h1

Like, Dislike, and the Absence of Actual Communication

February 17, 2010

A long time ago, in a suburban neighborhood several miles from here, someone logged onto their Facebook profile, looked through their friends’ posts, and thought to himself, “I really like this person’s post, but I don’t want to just say that I like it.” Immediately after, in the form of some days after, a light bulb went on, and after the person who turned it on was scolded for wasting electricity, someone else had an idea: making things “simple” for Facebook users, and adding a “Like” button.

For those who still happen to be paying the mortgage for the rocks under which they live, the “Like” button is supposed to be a simpler way for Facebook users to acknowledge a post by someone on their list; that is, without going through the tedious nature of actually having to type out what, in particular, piqued the acknowledgment, in the first place. It is a way for people to feel like they’ve contributed to the vast community that is Facebook, while at the same time giving them something to click because they like the sound their mouse makes when the left-hand button is pressed and let go.

And I loathe it.

If anybody has taken the time to view my profile, they will find that I try to make things interesting. Sometimes my status updates are cryptic, while other times they just happen to be lyrics to songs I happened to be listening to. I do this, primarily, for myself (because I happen to be easily entertained) but I also do it to help extend the communication standards between myself and the people I have so graciously accepted to be my friends on the site. As it is, I joined the profiling community because I was under the impression sites like Facebook and MySpace were created to help bridge gaps of said communication.

I also, as any faithful follower of my profile can attest to, happen to be a man of many words; even if those words make no cognitive sense. Take a look at my Notes, or even more simply at the comments I leave for my friends on their status updates (or any kind of update, really): one will find that my talking knows no bounds – if I can find an opening to say something, I will take it, armed with fork, knife, and several different condiments for flavoring. This is my role, in this grand scheme that is Facebook.

Unfortunately, the “Like” button has become something of a foe of mine. Now, when I post a status update, I can have several different people “Like”ing it, but not a single comment as to why. The “Like” button plays on one of my weaknesses: my analytical quirkiness! I receive a notification, saying that my mother and five other friends “Like”d an update I’d made, and I find myself channeling my very best Shatner: “LIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIKE!

But it gets better. Now, not only are people seemingly content with a “Like” button, they are asking for a “Dislike” button; as if not “Like”ing it, in the first place, wasn’t a sign! And not only are they asking for one, but the people are now demanding, in the form of groups geared toward the Facebook addition: “JOIN THIS GROUP FOR A PETITION – AND MY MOM WILL BAKE YOU A PIE!!!” (The sad thing is the pie being baked isn’t the one you really wanted.)

While the idea of a “Dislike” button makes sense – for those times when a friend posts about a relative passing away or when something bad happens in their life – it is also incredibly stupid; as was the inception and conception of the “Like” button before it.

The way I see it, the “Like” button’s only positive point with me is that it is, in fact, positive. If a person posts a video you happen to enjoy, then you “Like” it. Plain and simple. However, since it inherently has a negative connotation to it, adding a “Dislike” button could make things hairy for those who run Facebook. A person posts about something another person doesn’t particularly like, and instead of actually trying to get into a constructive discussion about the viewpoints of both parties, the latter takes the easy way and “Dislike”s the post. This, in turn, sullies the original person’s intent and perspective on the post, leading up to that quintessential question: Why?

Now, if Facebook were to introduce a text prompt directly after the “Like” button was hit, that would be a step in the right direction. A “Why?” prompt, similar to the “What’s on your mind?” prompt we, as Facebook users, take advantage of whenever we post some ridiculous status update. However, the people who run Facebook, I feel, have much more important things to fix and concentrate on – such as the terrible performance of the “Chat” program. (Seriously, what’s up with that piece of garbage?)

For those who are adamant about a “Dislike” button: simply don’t “Like” it.

For those who use the “Like” button: hey, at least you have that.

And for those who use Facebook, period: stop going with the simple way, and actually communicate!!!

Thank you.

Leave a comment